New Year, New Blog

It is the eve of a new year.  I have been planning to start a blog for a while; today seems like a great time to begin.  The Lord has been “rooting and grounding” me in His love (Ephesians 3:17).  I have been a pretty unstable Christian as I have wrestled to extricate psychological thinking from my mind and to replace it with sound biblical thinking.  It has been a long and arduous journey and I must stay vigilant to attacks and steadfast in my adherence to true doctrine and practice.   I am uncertain about making this public, but it is my hope and prayer that others might be encouraged by my experience and hard-earned understanding.

At present, I am wanting to learn more about and to grow in forbearance.  I have been a very exacting, judgmental and impatient woman.  Lack of forbearance is shown by being “intolerant of others…especially…of those who have different opinions or ideas as well as those who have sinful weaknesses that [I] do not have,”  says Martha Peace in her most favored book, Attitudes of a Transformed Heart.  “A person who is forbearing is tolerant.  In other words, they put up with differences and biblically bear with the sin and mistakes of others.”  I praise God that He as revealed to me my heart in this area and is empowering me to change.  I hate how I have been, and am loving learning to be patient and to lovingly bear with the differences and weaknesses of the people around me – especially my dear husband and children.

So for the first part of this year at least, I plan to keep studying, praying for and showing forbearance and kindness to those with whom I come in contact.  And foundationally, I will continue to treasure, protect and enhance my precious, hard-won biblical thinking.

I look forward to growing together with you in Christ.  Happy New Year!

7 thoughts on “New Year, New Blog

  1. Eileen,
    Thanks for the reminder…I love how He keeps us dependent on Him and His word. We must keep looking to Him to know what love looks like in each situation.
    And thanks for being the first one to comment on my blog!
    Lisa

  2. Reading what you have to say is such a blessing and an encouragement to me! I pray that God will use you to encourage and bless many people for His glory!

  3. This is exciting that you have this blog. May the Lord Bless you in this and may it bring others to salvation that if found in Christ Alone.

    • Marilyn,
      Thank you so much for visiting my blog! It is my prayer that others will be encouraged and will want to know Him or to know Him better as a result of His truth…pray with me that it is presented here! And keep coming back!

Leave a Reply

